Orsay collection

De Monet à Van Gogh : Découvrez la collection du musée d'Orsay

Le musée d'Orsay, connu en français sous le nom de Musée d'Orsay, est un musée d'histoire qui abrite principalement l'art moderne de 1848 à 1915. Sa collection est axée sur l'impressionnisme et le post-impressionnisme et est connue pour les chefs-d'œuvre d'artistes tels que Claude Monet et Vincent Van Gogh. Voici tout ce que vous devez savoir sur la collection d'Orsay, qui comprend des peintures, des sculptures, des arts décoratifs et des photographies.

Découvrez la collection du Musée d'Orsay

Orsay Collection

La collection du musée d'Orsay comprend plus de 6000 œuvres d'art, dont environ 3000 pièces pour les expositions permanentes, y compris des œuvres provenant d'autres musées comme le Louvre. 

La collection permanente comprend des peintures, des sculptures, des médailles, des arts décoratifs, des photographies, des pastels d'arts graphiques et des éléments architecturaux. Parmi les peintures les plus remarquables figurent des chefs-d'œuvre tels que Londres, le Parlement et le tableau Coquelicots de Monet, ainsi que La Nuit étoilée et Autoportrait de l'artiste de Vincent Van Gogh. Parmi la collection de nombreuses sculptures, L'âge d'airain d'Auguste Rodin est un classique.

Collections du musée d'Orsay : ce qu'il y a à voir

Orsay collection

Peintures

Les tableaux de la collection d'Orsay proviennent d'autres musées de France. Au cours du règne des différents monarques, la nature des œuvres acquises par le musée a changé. C'est après l'impressionnisme des années 1860 que le style s'impose au musée d'Orsay. Les peintures exposées au musée aujourd'hui sont des chefs-d'œuvre modernes tels que Le Bal du moulin de la Galette d'Auguste Renoir, Olympia, le tableau de 1883 d'Edouard Manet, et L'Angélus de Jean-François Millet.

Orsay collection

Sculptures

La collection de sculptures d'Orsay comprend plus de 1200 pièces. La plupart de ces pièces ont été transmises par des musées comme le musée du Luxembourg. En 1881, une sculpture masculine nue en bronze connue sous le nom de L'Âge d'airain d'Auguste Rodin est acquise par le musée. Ratapoil, la célèbre statue politique d'Honoré Daumier, fait partie de la collection du musée d'Orsay en 1891. Le buste de Ludwig van Beethoven d'Antoine Bourdelle fait son entrée au musée en 1905.

Orsay Collection

Photographies

Lorsque la collection d'Orsay a décidé de créer une section pour les photographies en 1978, aucun musée national en France ne disposait d'un segment similaire. La section photographique d'Orsay comprend des images datant de 1839. Les photographies de 1839 à 1863 illustrent l'âge d'or de la photographie française et anglaise. Cette collection comprend 40 tirages de l'artiste français pionnier Gustave Le Gray. La collection d'Orsay comprend également plus de mille images prises par l'objectifiste franco-américain Paul Burty-Haviland.

Orsay collection

Arts décoratifs

La collection d'arts décoratifs du musée d'Orsay est composée de milliers d'objets rares provenant de différentes parties. Une très large campagne a été menée par l'État pour acquérir des meubles, de l'argenterie, des céramiques, des émaux et des verreries provenant de lieux comme le musée du Luxembourg et le musée du Louvre. Parmi les œuvres prestigieuses exposées, citons le Fauteuil de Lars Kinsarvik datant des années 1900 et les Raisins mystérieux de l'artiste français de style nouveau Émile Gallé.

Orsay collection

Dessins et pastels

Le département des arts graphiques du musée d'Orsay compte plus de 80 000 dessins. Les arts appartenant à la seconde moitié du XIXème siècle font partie de la collection. Parmi les œuvres importantes exposées, citons Le nœud noir de Georges Seurat, un autoportrait de Gustave Courbet et le Portrait de Manet d'Edgar Degas. Le bouquet de marguerites de Jean-François Millet est une pièce importante de la section des pastels, qui compte environ 500 œuvres.

Orsay collection

Architecture

Il est intéressant de noter que le bâtiment qui abrite le musée d'Orsay était autrefois une gare. Aujourd'hui, le musée rend hommage aux techniques étonnantes qui ont prévalu à la construction du bâtiment du musée d'Orsay et d'autres structures similaires dans et autour de Paris. Les matériaux, l'art décoratif et les dessins d'architecture constituent les quelque 18 000 objets exposés. Les contributions de maîtres tels que Victor Baltard, Félix Duban, et Charles Garnier, constituent l'attrait de cette collection.

Collections temporaires au musée d'Orsay

En plus d'une collection permanente exposée, la collection du musée d'Orsay présente souvent des expositions temporaires appelées « collections en mouvement ».

Orsay collection

Les années heureuses. Denise photographiée par son père Émile Zola.

Ces photos, prises par le géant littéraire français Émile Zola, montrent sa vie clandestine. Photographe amateur, Zola a capturé plus de 10 000 images au cours de sa vie, alors qu'il se déplaçait d'une ville à l'autre. Les photos exposées au musée sont celles de Denise, sa fille, dont les portraits ont été pris entre 1898 et 1899.

Date : 3 février 2022 - 1er juin 2022

Localisation : cabinet de photographie, chambre 8 C

Orsay Collection

Dépôts

La collection d'Orsay compte un dépôt de plus de 5000 œuvres d'art. Ces œuvres sont conservées au sein du musée comme réserve pour des expositions publiques ou pour être prêtées à d'autres musées. Les œuvres en dépôt font l'objet de vérifications régulières pour évaluer leur état. Le musée gère également les dépôts d'autres musées tels que le Louvre ou le Musée national d'art moderne.

Orsay collection

Restaurations

La restauration d'art fait partie intégrante de la protection des œuvres d'art, dont certaines sont vieilles de plusieurs siècles. Le musée d'Orsay entreprend différentes techniques de restauration telles que la conservation préventive, la protection du visage et la restauration de cadres anciens. En 2018, une commission de restauration a été mise en place pour examiner les œuvres d'art et les préserver.

Orsay collection

Le cinéma dans le parcours permanent

Dès sa création, la collection d'Orsay a consacré une salle au cinéma. Les expositions de la collection rendent hommage à la cinématographie et à l'histoire de ce média. Des films sont également projetés lors des expositions temporaires.

Conseils pour votre visite

  • Tous les visiteur·euses âgé·es de 15 ans et plus doivent présenter un carnet de vaccination Covid-19 pour visiter le musée d'Orsay. Pour les personnes âgées de 12 à 15 ans, le carnet de santé est obligatoire. Toute personne âgée de plus de six ans doit porter un masque facial.
  • La collection d'Orsay compte des centaines d'objets exposés sur quatre étages. Comme il y a beaucoup à voir, il est sage de planifier à l'avance les sections qui requièrent votre attention. Vous avez le choix entre les peintures, les sculptures, les arts décoratifs et les photographies.
  • Choisir une visite guidée est une bonne idée. La collection d'Orsay est, sans aucun doute, l'un des plus importants ensembles de beaux-arts au monde. Apprenez à connaître tous les chefs-d'œuvre grâce à un guide touristique expert.
  • Le musée d'Orsay est visité par des millions de personnes chaque année, alors achetez vos billets en ligne. Vous gagnerez du temps et éviterez les files d'attente. 
  • Ne manquez pas les chefs-d'œuvre de Van Gogh comme La Chambre de Van Gogh à Arles, Vaches dans un pré, Tête de paysanne hollandaise et La Nuit étoilée.
Toutes vos options de billets pour le musée d'Orsay

Musée d'Orsay : Billets d'entrée

Validité prolongée
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
En savoir plus +

Musée de l’Orangerie et Musée d’Orsay : Billets d'entrée

Validité prolongée
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
En savoir plus +

Combo (Réduction de 5 %) : Musée d'Orsay + Croisière sur la Seine

Validité prolongée
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
Audioguide
En savoir plus +
à partir de 34 €32 €
Économisez 5 %

Musée de l'Orangerie : Billets d'entrée

Validité prolongée
Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
En savoir plus +

Combo : Billets Musée du Louvre + Musée d'Orsay

Billets mobiles
1 h
En savoir plus +

Combo : Sommet de la Tour Eiffel + Musée d'Orsay

Confirmation immédiate
Billets mobiles
1 h
Visite guidée
En savoir plus +

Foire aux questions : Collections du Musée d'Orsay

Combien d'œuvres d'art font partie de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

La collection d'Orsay comprend environ 6 000 œuvres d'art, dont environ 3 000 sont exposées en permanence.

Combien de temps faut-il compter pour visiter l'ensemble de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Nous vous recommandons de passer environ 2 à 3 heures pour voir l'ensemble de la collection d'Orsay.

Quelles sont les pièces de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

La collection d'Orsay est composée de milliers d'œuvres d'art de différents genres tels que des peintures, des sculptures, des dessins et des photographies.

Combien de tableaux font partie de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Plus d'un millier de peintures sont exposées au musée d'Orsay. Cela inclut des œuvres d'artistes comme Claude Monet et Vincent Van Gogh.

Quels sont les tableaux les plus célèbres de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Parmi les tableaux les plus célèbres de la collection d'Orsay figurent le Bal du moulin de la Galette d'Auguste Renoir, Olympia, le tableau de 1883 d'Edouard Manet, et La Nuit étoilée de Vincent Van Gogh.

Quelles sont les meilleures œuvres de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Les meilleures œuvres de la collection d'Orsay comprennent L'Âge d'airain d'Auguste Rodin, des tableaux de Claude Monet tels que Londres, le Parlement, Coquelicots et le célèbre autoportrait de Vincent Van Gogh.

La totalité de la collection du musée d'Orsay est-elle exposée ?

Non, la collection originale d'Orsay est composée de 6000 œuvres d'art, mais la collection permanente ne présente que 3000 pièces.

Quelles sont les sculptures qui font partie de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Parmi les sculptures remarquables de la collection d'Orsay, citons L'Âge d'airain d'Auguste Rodin, Ratapoil d'Honoré Daumier et Ludwig van Beethoven d'Antoine Bourdelle.

De quand date la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Bien que le musée d'Orsay n'ait ouvert au public qu'en 1986, ses collections remontent à 1848.

Quelles sont les photographies qui font partie de la collection du musée d'Orsay ?

Certaines des célèbres photographies exposées dans la collection d'Orsay sont celles de Paul Burty-Haviland et de Gustave Le Gray.

Y a-t-il des collections temporaires du Musée d'Orsay ?

Oui, des collections d'art temporaires sont exposées au musée d'Orsay à différents moments de l'année.

Orsay collection

From Monet to Van Gogh | Discover the Exquisite Orsay Museum Collection

Orsay Museum, known in French as Musée d'Orsay, is a history museum that primarily houses modern art from 1848 to 1915. Its collection focuses on impressionism and post-impressionism and is known for masterpieces by artists such as Claude Monet and Vincent Van Gogh. Here's everything you need to know about the Orsay collection, which includes paintings, sculptures, decorative arts, and photographs.

Explore the Orsay Collection

Orsay Collection

Orsay Museum’s collection contains over 6000 artworks, out of which the permanent exhibits consists of about 3000 pieces, including artworks sourced from other museums such as the Louvre. 

The permanent collection houses paintings, sculptures, medals, decorative art, photographs, graphic arts pastels, and architectural elements. Notable paintings include masterpieces like London, The Parliament, and Poppies by Monet, and The Starry Night and Self-Portrait by Vincent Van Gogh. Among the collection of numerous sculptures, The Age of Bronze by Auguste Rodin is a classic.

Orsay Collection Highlights | What to Look For

Orsay collection

Paintings

The paintings in the Orsay collection came from other museums in France. Over the course of the reign of various monarchs, the nature of artworks acquired by the museum changed. It was after the 1860s era of impressionism that the style took center stage at the Orsay Museum. The paintings displayed in the museum today consist of modern masterpieces such as Ball at the Moulin de la Galette by Auguste Renoir, Olympia the 1883 painting by Edouard Manet, and The Angelus by Jean-François Millet.

Orsay collection

Sculptures

The Orsay collection of sculptures includes over 1200 items. Most of these pieces were passed on from museums like the Musée du Luxembourg. In 1881, a bronze male nude sculpture known as The Age of Brass by Auguste Rodin was acquired by the museum. Ratapoil, the famous political statue by Honoré Daumier, became a part of the Orsay Museum’s collection in 1891. Antoine Bourdelle's Ludwig van Beethoven bust made its way into the museum in 1905.

Orsay Collection

Photograph

When the Orsay Collection decided to start a section for photographs in 1978, no National Museum in France had a similar segment. The photography section in Orsay includes images dating back to 1839. Photographs between 1839 to 1863 depict the golden age of French and English photography. This collection includes 40 prints by pioneering French artist Gustave Le Gray. The Orsay collection also includes over a thousand images taken by French-American lensman Paul Burty-Haviland.

Orsay collection

Decorative Art

Orsay Museum’s collection of decorative arts consists of thousands of rare artifacts sourced from different parties. A very wide campaign was carried out by the State to acquire furniture, silverware, ceramics, enamels, and glassware from places like Musée du Luxembourg and the Louvre Museum. Some of the prestigious works on display are Lars Kinsarvik's Armchair from the 1900s and French Nouveau artist Émile Gallé's Mysterious Grapes.

Orsay collection

Graphic Art & Pastels

The graphic arts department in the Orsay Museum has over 80,000 drawings. Arts belonging to the second half of the 19th century are featured in the collection. Some of the important works on display are The Black Knot by Georges Seurat, a self-portrait of Gustave Courbet, and Portrait of Manet by Edgar Degas. The bouquet of daisies by Jean-François Millet is an important exhibit in the pastels section, which houses around 500 artworks.

Orsay collection

Architecture

It's interesting to note that the building that houses the Orsay Museum was once a train station. Today, the museum pays tribute to the stunning techniques prevalent in the construction of the Orsay Museum building and other similar structures in and around Paris. The materials, decorative art, and architectural drawings make up around 18,000 objects on display. Contributions of masters such as Victor Baltard, Félix Duban, and Charles Garnier, are the attraction of this collection.

Temporary Collections at Orsay Museum

Along with a permanent collection on display, the Orsay museum collection often features temporary exhibitions known as moving collections.

Orsay collection

Happy years | Denise photographed by Her Father Émile Zola.

These photos, taken by French literary giant Emile Zola show his clandestine life. An amateur photographer, Zola has captured over 10,000 images in his life as he moved from one city to another. The photos on display at the museum are of Denise, his daughter, whose portraits were clicked between 1898 and 1899.

Date: February 3, 2022 - June 1, 2022

Location: Cabinet de photographie, Room 8 C

Orsay Collection

Works on Deposit

Orsay collection has a deposit of over 5000 artworks. These art pieces are kept within the museum as a reserve for public exhibitions or to lend to other museums. The artworks in the deposits get regular verification to assess their condition. The museum also handles deposits from other museums such as the Louvre or the National Museum of Modern Art. 

Orsay collection

Restorations

Art restoration is an integral part of protecting the artworks, some of which are centuries old. Orsay museum undertakes various restoration techniques such as preventive conservation, facial protection, and the restoration of old frames. In 2018, a Restoration Commission was created in place to examine the artworks and preserve them.

Orsay collection

The Cinema in the Permanent Course

From the very beginning, the Orsay collection has dedicated a room for cinema. The exhibits in the collection pay tribute to cinematography and the history of the medium. Films are also shown during the temporary exhibitions. 

Visitor Tips

  • All visitors aged 15 and above are required to present a Covid-19 vaccination pass to visit the Orsay Museum. For visitors aged 12 to 15, a health pass is mandatory. Everyone above age six should wear a face mask.
  • The Orsay collection has hundreds of artifacts on display spanning four floors. Since there's a lot to see, it's wise to plan in advance which sections require your attention and your priorities - paintings, sculptures, decorative arts, or photographs.
  • Choose a guided tour. The Orsay collection, without any doubt, is one of the world's most important fine art ensembles. Learn about all the masterpieces from an expert tour guide.
  • The Orsay Museum is visited by millions of people every year, so buy your tickets online and in advance. It saves time and avoids queuing. 
  • Don't miss the Van Gogh masterpieces like Bedroom in Arles, Cows in a Meadow, Head of a Dutch Peasant Woman, and The Starry Night.
All Your Orsay Museum Tickets & Tours

Dedicated Entrance to Orsay Museum

Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
More details +

Tickets to Musee de L'Orangerie and Musee d'Orsay

Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
More details +

Combo (Save 5%): Orsay Museum + Seine River Cruise Tickets

Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
Audio Guide
More details +
From €34€32
Save 5%

Entrance Ticket to The Orangerie Museum

Extended Validity
Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
More details +

Combo: Louvre Museum + Orsay Museum Tickets

Mobile Ticket
1 hr.
More details +

Combo: Palace of Versailles + Orsay Museum Tickets

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr.
Audio Guide
More details +
€38

Combo: Eiffel Tower Summit Tour + Orsay Museum Tickets

Instant Confirmation
Mobile Ticket
1 hr.
Guided Tour
More details +

Frequently Asked Questions About the Orsay Collection

Q. How many artworks are part of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. Orsay collection consists of about 6,000 artworks, out of which around 3,000 are on display.

Q. How long will I take to see the entire Orsay Museum collection?

A. We recommend spending about 2 to 3 hours to see the entire Orsay collection.

Q. What is part of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. The Orsay collection consists of thousands of artworks across different genres such as paintings, sculptures, drawings, and photographs.

Q. How many paintings are part of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. There are over a thousand paintings on display at the Orsay Museum. This includes works of artists like Claude Monet and Vincent Van Gogh.

Q. What are the most famous paintings in the Orsay Museum collection?

A. Some of the most famous paintings in the Orsay collection include Ball at the Moulin de la Galette by Auguste Renoir, Olympia the 1883 painting by Edouard Manet, and The Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh.

Q. What are the best artworks of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. The best artworks of the Orsay collection include The Age of Brass by Auguste Rodin, Claude Monet paintings such as London, the Parliament, and Poppies, and the famous self-portrait of Vincent Van Gogh.

Q. Is the entire Orsay Museum collection on display?

A. No. The original Orsay collection consists of 6000 artworks, but the permanent collection only displays 3000 pieces.

Q. What sculptures are part of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. Some of the notable sculptures in the Orsay collection are The Age of Brass by Auguste Rodin, Ratapoil by Honoré Daumier, and Ludwig van Beethoven bust by Antoine Bourdelle.

Q. How old is the Orsay Museum collection?

A. Though the Orsay Museum opened to the public only in 1986, the collections date back to 1848.

Q. What photographs are part of the Orsay Museum collection?

A. Some of the famous photographs displayed in the Orsay collection are of Paul Burty-Haviland and Gustave Le Gray.

Q. Are there any temporary Orsay Museum collections?

A. Yes, temporary art collections are displayed at Orsay Museum at different times during the year.